- Attorney Justin Shepherd has been selected by the American Society of Legal Advocates as one of the top criminal defense lawyers in the State of New Hampshire for 2014. This award is based on Attorney Shepherd's stellar legal credentials and his proven commitment to community engagement, leadership and the highest professional standards.
- Transportation of Marijuana - Client was pulled over for speeding. Upon approaching the client's vehicle, the officer smelled marijuana. The client consented to a search of his vehicle and a quantity of marijuana discovered. Prior to trial Attorney Shepherd was able to successfully negotiate a result with the prosecutor whereby the case was DISMISSED upon completion of community service. September 17, 2013
- POSSESSION OF A CONTROLLED DRUG - Client was charged with Possession of Clonazepam. Attorney Shepherd was able to successfully get the case dismissed. July 30, 2013
- Case Results 2013
- Escape - Client charged with Felony Escape for failing to return home on a timely basis while on administrative release. After speaking with the prosecutor the State completely dropped the case. June, 2013
Bad Checks Laws New Hampshire
When am I in Trouble?
Under New Hampshire law, you are guilty of Issuing a Bad Check if you issue or pass a check for the payment of money and payment is refused by the bank. You are presumed to know that the check would not be paid if you had no account with the bank when you issued the check.
When am I not in Trouble?
You should not be charged with Issuing a Bad Check where a legal stop payment order has been issued with respect to the check or the bank refuses payment for any reason through no fault of the person who issued the check.
I issued a Bad Check. What should I do?
Pay the amount of the check. Quickly! It is an affirmative defense that you paid the amount of the check and all associated fees to the person to whom it is due within 14 days of receiving notice that payment was refused. Failure to make payment within 14 days after receiving notice that payment was refused is "prima facie" evidence of a violation of the statute.
Penalties for Issuing a Bad Check:
- Issuing a Bad Check is a Class A Felony when:
- The face amount of the check exceeds $1,500; You have 2 or more prior convictions where the present and prior convictions are based on offenses committed within a 12 month period and the aggregate amount of the checks from the past and present exceed $1,500
Issuing a Bad Check is a Class B Felony when:
- The face amount of the check exceeds $1,000 but is less than $1,500;
- You have 2 or more prior convictions where the present and prior convictions are based on offenses committed within a 12 month period and the aggregate amount of the checks from the past and present exceeds $1,000 but is less than $1,500.
Issuing a Bad Check is a Class A Misdemeanor when:
- The face amount of the check does not exceed $1,000 and you have been convicted for Issuing a Bad Check within the past 12 months. Issuing a Bad Check is a Class B Misdemeanor in all other circumstances.
Our telephone number is: 603-595-5525
DWI/DUI in New Hampshire Menu
Proudly Serving New Hampshire