- Attorney Justin Shepherd has been selected by the American Society of Legal Advocates as one of the top criminal defense lawyers in the State of New Hampshire for 2014. This award is based on Attorney Shepherd's stellar legal credentials and his proven commitment to community engagement, leadership and the highest professional standards.
- Transportation of Marijuana - Client was pulled over for speeding. Upon approaching the client's vehicle, the officer smelled marijuana. The client consented to a search of his vehicle and a quantity of marijuana discovered. Prior to trial Attorney Shepherd was able to successfully negotiate a result with the prosecutor whereby the case was DISMISSED upon completion of community service. September 17, 2013
- POSSESSION OF A CONTROLLED DRUG - Client was charged with Possession of Clonazepam. Attorney Shepherd was able to successfully get the case dismissed. July 30, 2013
- Case Results 2013
- Escape - Client charged with Felony Escape for failing to return home on a timely basis while on administrative release. After speaking with the prosecutor the State completely dropped the case. June, 2013
Felony and Misdemeanor Laws NH
The Difference Between a Felony and a Misdemeanor?
In New Hampshire, a felony is a charge that can result in you going to prison for more one year. A misdemeanor is typically a charge that can put you in jail for no more than one year.
New Hampshire divides its felonies into two categories, "A" felonies and "B" felonies. "A" felonies are among the most serious crimes with which one can be charged in New Hampshire. A felonies usually carry a maximum sentence of up to 7 ½ - 15 years in prison and up to a $4,000 fine. These felonies include high valued thefts, severely injurious assaults, burglaries committed at night, etc. Some "A" felonies such as aggravated felonious sexual assaults carry up to 10 -20 years in prison.
"B" felonies on the other hand carry a maximum punishment of 3 ½ - 7 years in prison.
New Hampshire also divides its misdemeanors into classes of "A" and "B". An "A" misdemeanor carries a potential punishment of up to 12 months in jail and up to a $2,000 fine. Crimes such as theft, shoplifting, marijuana possession, disorderly conduct, resisting arrest, and simple assault.
"B" misdemeanors, however, do not carry any jail time. The maximum punishment for a "B" misdemeanor in New Hampshire is up to a $1,200 fine. These cases are not usually crimes of the century, but they can have a negative impact on your career and personal life if convicted.
If you are charged with a crime and you are not sure what type it is, please feel free to call or e-mail us. We will be happy to clear up any confusion that you may have about the level of crime with which you have been charged.
Our telephone number is: 603-595-5525
DWI/DUI in New Hampshire Menu
Proudly Serving New Hampshire