- ..... Congratulations To The Law Office of Shepherd and Osborne - Voted Best Law Firm by The Telegraph Best of Greater Nashua 2017!.....
Misdemeanors in New Hampshire
In the State of New Hampshire there are three kinds of classifications for criminal behavior. They are Felonies, Misdemeanors, and Violations. This page shall discuss misdemeanors.
A misdemeanor is basically a minor crime on which, if you are convicted, you cannot receive a sentence in excess of 12 months in jail and a $2,000 fine.
In New Hampshire, there are two classifications for misdemeanor offenses. There Are “A” misdemeanors and “B" misdemeanors.
A class “A” misdemeanor is a crime that is punishable up to 12 months in jail and a $2,000 fine. A class “B” misdemeanor is a crime that is punishable up to a $1,200 fine. You cannot be sent to jail for a “B” misdemeanor conviction.
Most “A” and “B” misdemeanor convictions can be annulled or expunged after 3 years from the completion of your sentence.
Please remember, however, that all criminal convictions are serious and may be detrimental to your life. A class “A” misdemeanor conviction could land you in jail. Although a potential 12 month sentence is better than a lengthy prison sentence, it isn’t a walk in the park and you should consult an attorney about any charges that could land you in jail.
Furthermore, misdemeanor convictions can affect your ability to get a private sector job, a government job, ANY job that requires you to have a security clearance, your ability to get a loan, go to college, etc. If you get convicted for a misdemeanor that alleges some form of domestic violence or assault you could be barred from owning a firearm for the rest of your life.
Accordingly, if you have any questions about misdemeanor offenses, it is always best to consult an attorney. At Shepherd & Osborne, we are always happy to take your calls/e-mails and answer whatever questions you may have. We will not charge you for talking to us. We are lawyers because we like what we do and we are always happy to help you and answer your questions.
Our telephone number is: 603-595-5525
DWI/DUI in New Hampshire Menu
Proudly Serving New Hampshire